A Very Special Event in the Virtual Library
August 9, 2000 - 12:00 Noon EDT

An Online Birthday Party!
Third Year Anniversary of the EIIP Virtual Forum


Opening Remarks
Recognition of 99-00 Participants
Recognition of Pledges

Remarks by
Joseph D. Szwarckop
Director, GDIN Committee Support Office

The Global Disaster Information Network

Fun with Images
Party Game


On-line Transcript
Download Transcript (MS Word File)

Birthday Invitation

Presenter Hall of Fame
Friends of EIIP

About J. D. Szwarckop
Executive Order on GDIN, #13151
Reducing Disaster Losses Through Better Information, (the BOND report)


EIIP Virtual Forum Presentation
Wednesday - August 9, 2000 - 12:00 Noon EDT

Third Anniversary Celebration
and the Global Disaster Information Network

Szwarckop, J. D.
GDIN Committee Support Office

Avagene Moore
EIIP Coordinator

Amy Sebring
EIIP Technical Projects Coordinator

The EIIP Virtual Forum celebrated its Third Anniversary with a large audience from the US and abroad. An overview of the past year was given to the audience; speakers, participants and EIIP Pledges were honored.

The formal part of the session featured Joseph D. Szwarckop, Director of the GDIN Committee Support Office. A Question and Answer session followed Director Szwarckop's remarks on the Gobal Disaster Information Network.

At the end of the formal meeting, those who chose to remain for the party were treated to an interactive game, birthday cards, cyber hats, balloons and birthday cake.Warm congratulations for another successful year were shared all around.

* * * *


Global Disaster Information Network (GDIN) Committee Support Office

J.D. Szwarckop is the Director of the Global Disaster Information Network (GDIN) Committee Support Office. He supervises an interagency staff responsible for supporting the Interagency Coordination Committee and for implementing the GDIN program under the Committee's guidance.

Prior to being appointed as FEMA's representative to the GDIN program, Mr.Szwarckop served as manager of the Chemical Stockpile Emergency Preparedness Program (CSEPP) for three years beginning in 1995. This $85 M a year program, conducted in coordination with the United States Army, was established to enhance the emergency response capability of civilian communities surrounding the eight chemical weapons storage sites in the United States.

From 1993 to 1995, he was assigned as Director of FEMA's Operations and Maintenance Division, Information Technology Support Directorate. His principal responsibility in this position was the operation and maintenance of FEMA's Switched Network "backbone" communications and information systems. Prior to this assignment, Mr. Szwarckop was Director of FEMA's Chemical Preparedness Division where he managed the CSEPP and Hazardous Materials Programs. He was also FEMA's representative to the National Response Team.

Before entering Federal Civilian Service in 1992, he completed a 36-year career with the United States Army, achieving the rank of Colonel. In addition to the leadership and management experience gained from a variety of troop and staff assignments, he has worked extensively in the areas of nuclear and chemical weapons security and emergency management. From 1986 until his retirement in 1992, Mr. Szwarckop served at the United States Army Nuclear and Chemical Agency first as the Nuclear and Chemical Surety Director and later as the Deputy Commander. He is a graduate of the United States Military Academy, West Point, with a bachelor's degree in engineering. He also holds a master's degree in management from the University of Oklahoma.

* * * *

1999-2000 PRESENTERS

The EIIP could not have had such a successful year without the contribution of time and effort donated by the individuals listed below. For almost every one of them, this was a new, and hopefully enjoyable, experience and took a willingness to master an unfamiliar skill. We are most grateful for their efforts. Our many thanks. -- EIIP

Dennis Miletti
Lacy Suiter
Senator Fred Thompson
Kay Goss
Bob Goldhammer
Pat Moore
Judy Jaegar
Jim Wilkinson
Claire Rubin
Rich Dieffenbach
Andy Crawford
Sam Isenberger
Marc Levitan
Steve Austin
Wayne Powell
William Turnbull
Marg Verbeek
Dave Hastings
Wayne Blanchard
Steven Arendt
Gerry Hoetmer
Ron Gird
Kellye Junchaya
Dan Robeson
Stephen Borth
Steve Fischer
Kathee Henning
Vincent Parisi
Robert Swan
Karen Franklin
Stephanie Myers
Chip Hines
Janet Dilling
Steven Labov
Dean Larson
Bill Timmer
Sandy Eslinger
Leslie Little
John Laye

Kim Fletcher
Craig Swietlik
Donald Newsom
Kenneth Bertram
Caroline Herzenberg
Bill Karl
Kenneth Patterson, Sr
Gunnar Kuepper
Barbara Vogt
John Sorenson
Troy Armstrong
Diana McClure
Herb Mitchell
John Ogren
Chad Johnston
Preston Cook
Jane Morgan
Walter Green
Jean Luc Poncelet
Don Bathurst
Ann Willis
Tim Cohn
Kathleen Gohn
Mitch Cooper
Janet Benini
Amy Sebring
David Hancock
J. P. DeMerritt
Joanne McGlown
Elaine Enarson
Lloyd Bokman
Eric Strohl
Dave Wheatcraft
Richard Ranous
Libbi Rucker-Reed
Warren Vaughn
Frances Winslow
Jim Cook

Virtual Library Chat Page