Defense Support of Civil Authorities
Incident Response & Specialized Capabilities

Lieutenant Colonel Roberto Garza
Public Affairs Officer
U.S. Northern Command
Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado

August 10, 2005

Transcript (HTML)
Transcript (MS Word)

Related Websites:
Joint Task Force Civil Support
US Department of Defense Joint Publication 3-26 "Homeland Security"
DoD Directive 3025.1, "Military Support to Civil Authorities (MSCA)" (1993)
DoD Directive 3025.15, "Military Assistance to Civil Authorities" (1997)
DoD Directive 5525.5, "DoD Cooperation with Civilian Law Enforcement Officials" (1986)

Up Arrow to Top of Page


Lieutenant Colonel Garza was commissioned through the United States Air Force Academy in 1979 with a Bachelor of Science degree in military history. After graduating from the Air Force Academy, he attended undergraduate navigator training at Mather Air Force Base, California and graduated in 1980. Lt Col Garza's previous assignments include wing standardization evaluation electronic warfare officer, B-52, 28 Bomb Wing, Ellsworth AFB, SD; wing assistant chief, standardization evaluation electronic warfare officer, RC-135, 55 Strategic Reconnaissance Wing, Offutt Air Force Base, Nebraska; chief, combat intelligence, 922 Strategic Squadron, Hellenikon Air Base, Greece; chief, tanker assignments section, HQ Air Force Manpower Personnel Center; deputy commander, American Forces Network, Frankfurt, Germany; commander, mission support, HQ Air Force News Agency, Kelly Air Force Base, Texas; operations officer, HQ AFRTS, Alexandria, VA; and commander, AFRTS-Broadcast Center, March ARB, CA. He assumed his current duties as a Public Affairs Officer for U.S. Northern Command, Peterson Air Force Base, Colo. in Aug 2003.

His military education includes a Master of Human Relations degree from the University of Oklahoma in 1988. He completed Squadron Officer School in 1984, Air Command and Staff College in 1987 (corres.) and Air War College in 1999 (corres.).

Lt Col Garza's awards and decorations include the Defense Meritorious Service Medal, the Meritorious Service Medal with three oak leaf clusters (OLC), the Air Medal with six OLC, the Aerial Achievement Medal, the Joint Service Commendation Medal, the Air Force Commendation Medal with one OLC, the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, the Armed Forces Service Medal, and the Humanitarian Service Medal.